The Empowered Patient, Part 4

In my opinion, an empowered patient is nicely assertive.  I have always believed in building positive relationships with healthcare professionals.  I want them to look forward to seeing me, never dreading my presence.  I want them to know that I am part of my health care team, and in no way their enemy.  I want the professionals who take care of me or my loved ones to feel comfortable with my suggestions and requests, never thinking that I am out to ‘get’ them in any way.

Please understand, however, that if I do have a concern that I think needs to be taken to a supervisor, be it nurse manager, or hospital administrator, I will not hesitate to do so. That is a given.

What I am saying in this post is that, I  believe much more is accomplished with health care professionals if we establish a positive working relationship as quickly as possible.  That foundation will then make possible the ‘give and take’ that is necessary during the treatment of illness.

Leave a Reply

