I Need to Sit On the P-O-T

Mom, my grandmother, has always had a wonderful sense of humor. During her better days at this hospital, she has kept all of us grinning and chuckling with her funny remarks and sayings. I just had to share some of them with you.

My sister, Darla, wrote about two events: Mom awakened me several times during the night so I was groggy. Then she said something in her newly acquired extra craggy voice, “I need (unintelligible).” I said, “What?” She repeated the again unintelligible line and again I said, “What, Mom?” In frustration she said, “P-O-T” Oh, I got it. I began to look for the call button and said, “OK. As soon as I find the nurse’s t-h-i-n-g.’  She laughed.

Again, Darla wrote: Mom got a suppository. After having a BM and being repositioned in bed, she said, “My rectum burns.” I replied, “On the outside or the inside?”, thinking that perhaps the nurses had missed something while wiping her.  She said, “On the inside.  That’s where the rectum is!”  This time we laughed.

Since having the NG tube down her throat, she has been continually spitting up.  The nurse  felt like the secretions were just saliva collecting in her mouth as a result of not swallowing because of the irritation to her throat from the tube. Mom can swallow, its just uncomfortable.  The nurse got her something that would numb her throat and we began to talk to her about just swallowing ‘all that stuff’.  She said, “Swallow that nasty stuff?”  We told her that was what she needed to do, and she agreed to do it.

Later that evening I noticed a very serious look on her face.  I asked her to tell me was things about.  She replied, “First, I spit it up and then I swallow that darn stuff.”  Then she turned to look at me and said, “I say cuss words ever once in a while.”  LOL moment.  She then remarked, “My daddy would spank my bottom if he heard me say that.”  So very funny.

At the present time, we are challenging her digestive system one more time with liquid food going into her stomach via the NG tube.  If all goes well and she is able to move her bowels, then she will be on the road to recovery, and will begin again to eat solid foods.  If not, then we will begin to talk about Hospice.  At the moment we are still in a holding pattern waiting to see if her little frail body will overcome this the toughest battle of her life.

Leave a Reply

