Update on Kenny

 I received this email from Kenny,updating his condition, options, and status of his treatment.

There are things here that only God can do.  It is my prayer that God will be present in all areas of his illnes, comforting, give guidance, peace and wisdom.

“As some of you know, I have recently been diagnosed with “synovial sarcoma
metastatic to the lungs”.  That means that the same cancer that was removed
from my forearm 4 1/2 years ago has now been found in my lungs.  A month ago
when my doctor told us, he said there was no cure.  Chemotherapy would only
prolong my days, but the type of chemo I would have to take would have such
terrible side effects, that we decided that was not a good option.  It might
give us a few more weeks or months, but my quality of life would go down
immediately, with no real chance of improvement.

I received a call two weeks ago from my doctor about an option that had just
opened up.  There was an experimental drug that might have some benefit.  We
asked him to make us an appointment to discuss it with a Dr. Monica Mita in
San Antonio, which happened last week.

I have been accepted in this phase II clinical trial at the Cancer Therapy
and Research Center (CTRC) in San Antonio.  The drug “Reolysin”, which
contains a virus called the reovirus, will be administered to me through IV
for a five day period every 28 days for up to eight periods (if it appears
to be doing anything positive).  This is not a chemotherapy, but it is given
in pretty much the same way.  The doctors reminded me that there is still no
cure for my cancer, but this drug in experiments has shown some possible
hope in slowing down or shrinking tumors, or possibly even throwing the
cancer into remission.  While we recognize that, medically, there is no
cure, we know that God can choose to heal me completely, and by whatever
means He chooses.

We have been told of several things we ought to try.  How could we know what
to do?  We have been praying
for God to make our choice (if any) obvious to
us.  We believe He has.

The one thing I would ask is if you believe in prayer, please pray for me,
my wife Helen and my two daughters, Shandria and Stefani.  Everyone’s prayers help a lot!”

5 thoughts on “Update on Kenny

  1. You are always in my prayers Kenny.

    I am in the same boat as you are with the exact same disease. Hang tight and keep the hope up. There’s always light at the end of the tunnel. What ever the Lord decides, it is always for our own good.

  2. Thank you for your comment. I know that Kenny will be comforted knowing that you, battling the same disease, are praying for him.

Leave a Reply

