God’s Grace is Sufficient

God’s grace is sufficient.  All my life I have heard people talk about how God’s grace sustained them through difficult, no, horrendous times.  I never doubted the truth of this scripture and I never doubted the truth of God’s grace in their experiences.  I had just never so completely experienced it for myself until I traveled down the cancer path with my parents.

I experienced His Comfort as I stood by Daddy’s hospital bed, agonizing over how sick he was.  More importantly I know that Daddy was experiencing His Comfort as he mentally and emotionally was preparing for the coming transition to heaven.

I experienced His Strength as I struggled to carry on in the face of physical exhaution from night after night attempting to sleep on a hospital cot.  More importantly I know that Daddy experienced His Strength as he struggled to face one more needle, one more test, one more new pain.

I experienced His Wisdom as  I needed to make decision after decision on sometimes small issues and sometimes critical ones.  More importantly I know that Daddy experienced His Wisdom as he accepted the reality that letting to of this life and stepping into the next was inevitable.

God met our needs in many ways and guided us minute by minute, hour by hour, and day by day.  Though I never want to relive this time in my life, experiencing God’s Grace during this time is priceless.

Tomorrow the focus on Mother continues.

Leave a Reply

